Irish Volunteers who died between 24 April 1916 and 31 December 1920

Several weeks ago I put out an appeal for photographs, memory cards and lesser known ballads /poems about volunteers who died between 24 April 1916 and 31 December 1920. We got a good response from some of you and found images for many names and even some names we had not listed.

Now we need your help again. Here is the 1921 list (January 1921 – 11 July 1921) of Republican casualties that we are missing an image for. If you happen to recognise a name on this list and you happen to have a photo, memory card, scan or computer image, we would gladly accept a scan or clear phone picture.

We need your help with this if we want it to be a success and of course all help will be appreciated. Also, please share this post so we get this appeal across the island.

Colum O’Ruairc


We need photographs of the following:

Jeremiah Casey, Macroom, Co. Cork

Patrick Joseph Durr, Ballintubber, Co. Roscommon

John McSweeney, Kanturk, Co. Cork

Felix Dominic Mallon, Newry, Co. Down

William Ryan, Tipperary Town

Paud O’Donovan, Timoleague, Co. Cork

Joseph Tormey, Moate, Co. Westmeath

Thomas Collins, Headford, Co. Galway

Daniel Hegarty, Timoleague, Co. Cork

Michael Magee, Dublin

Michael Garvey, Belfast / Armagh

Thomas Blake, Limerick City

Denis Bennett, Mallow, Co. Cork

Joseph Kelly, Arklow, Co. Wicklow

Patrick O’Halloran, Croom, Co. Limerick

James Ferron, Carna, Co. Galway

Patrick Folan, Carna, Co. Galway

Joseph Keeley, Carna, Co. Galway

Joseph Green, Carna, Co. Galway

Patrick O’Driscoll, Skibbereen, Co. Cork

Daniel Mahoney, Macroom, Co. Cork

Joseph Collins, Abbeyfeale, Co. Limerick

Bartholomew (Batt) Falvey, Upton, Co. Cork

Edmond Creedon, Mallow, Co. Cork

Patrick Flynn, Mallow, Co. Cork

Timothy Connolly, Kilbrittain, Co. Cork

Jeremiah O’Neill, Kilbrittain, Co. Cork

Cornelius McCarthy, Kilbrittain, Co. Cork

John McGrath, Kilbrittain, Co. Cork

Jimmy Cronin, Castlegregory, Co. Kerry

Joe Taylor, Glencar, Co. Kerry

William Kelly, Thurles, Co. Tipperary

John Lyons, Coachford, Co. Cork

Michael Heeney, Glencolmcille, Co. Donegal

Michael John O’Mahony, Passage West, Co. Cork

Richard Keane, Cashel, Co. Tipperary

Thomas Leen, Listowel, Co. Kerry

Cornelius Foley, Macroom, Co. Cork

Patrick Hackett, Fethard, Co. Tipperary

Patrick Joseph Larmour / Larmer, Rockcorry, Co. Monaghan

Edmond Twomey, Banteer, Co. Cork

Michael Kiely, Banteer, Co. Cork

David Herlihy, Banteer, Co. Cork

Thomas Shannon, Kilrush, Co. Clare

Richard Newman, Castletownbere, Co. Cork

Bernard O’Hanlon, Dublin / Dundalk, Co. Louth

David Christopher Kelly, Dublin

Patrick Honan, Labasheeda, Co. Clare

Con Daly, Bandon, Co. Cork

James Smyth, Granard, Co. Longford

Arthur Mulcahy, Conna, Co. Cork

Sean O’Shea, Midleton, Co. Cork

Daniel Crowley, Cork City

Daniel Murphy, Cork City

Michael O’Sullivan, Cork City

Michael Mullooly, Strokestown, Co. Roscommon

Timothy Whooley, Ballineen, Co. Cork

Christopher Reynolds, Rathfarnham, Dublin

Sean Morgan, Manchester Battalion IRA

Michael Coen, Ballyhaunis, Co. Mayo

Patrick Cloonan, Oranmore, Co. Galway

Terry McGlynn, Boyle, Co. Roscommon

Daniel Carew, Cashel, Co. Tipperary

Patrick (Sonny) Conry, Castlerea, Co. Roscommon.

Liam Hoare, Youghal, Co. Cork

Daniel O’Driscoll, Ardfert, Co. Kerry

James Barry, Causeway, Co. Kerry

Michael Casey, Mitchelstown, Co. Cork

Sean McMahon, Dublin.

Michael Joseph Fay, Rathvilly, Co. Carlow

James Farrell, Ballymurphy, Co. Carlow

Peter Farrell, Ballymurphy, Co. Carlow

Peter White, Donabate, Dublin

Michael Deely, Kilfenora, Co. Clare

Patrick Ronayne, Burnfoot, Co. Cork

Joseph Coughlan, Mallow, Co. Cork

William Riordan, Ballylanders, Co. Limerick

Thomas Howard, Glenbrohane, Co. Limerick

Padraig Feeney, Ballinrobe, Co. Mayo

Patrick Farrell, Edgeworthstown, Co. Longford

Daniel Killoughrey, Lahinch, Co. Clare

Thomas Francis Lally, Islandeady, Co. Mayo

Thomas O’Malley, Islandeady, Co. Mayo

James Kearns, Clonegal, Co. Carlow

Frederick Henry, Lwr Mount St, Dublin.

Patrick Wrynn, Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim

Godfrey Canty, Enniskeane, Co. Cork

William Joseph Quinn, Templetouhy, Co. Tipperary

Peter Meade, Miltown Malbay, Co. Clare

Patrick Anthony Marley, Newport, Co. Mayo

Edward McNamara, Midleton, Co. Cork

James Lacey, Ballylinan, Co. Laois

William Connor, Barrowhouse, Co. Laois

Liam Burke, Ballyhooly, Co. Cork

John Scally, Lanesboro, Co. Roscommon

Patrick (John) O’Brien, Ardagh, Co. Limerick

Denis Broderick, Ballymacelligott, Co. Kerry

James (Red Jim) Browne, Kilmeena, Co. Mayo

Paddy Boland, Ballyhaunis, Co. Mayo

Sean O’Rourke, Waterford City

Peter O’Callaghan, Macroom, Co. Cork

Patrick Morris, Newtownstewart, Co. Tyrone

Edward Doherty, Ballybofey, Co. Donegal

Sean McIntyre, Belturbet, Co. Cavan

John Dennehy, Headford, Co. Kerry

Patrick Ryan, Newport, Co. Tipperary

Maurice Quinn, Ballinspittle, Co. Kerry

Daniel (Sonny) Buckley, Macroom, Co. Cork

Daniel Crowley, Dunmanway, Co. Cork

James Hogan, Croom, Co. Limerick

Matt O’Donovan, Bandon, Co. Cork

John Lucey, Cork City

John Cosgrave, Camlough, Co. Armagh

Henry Hughes, Longford Town

Tom Fleming, Farranfore, Co. Kerry

Thomas Kelleher, Aughatemple, Co. Longford

Edward Fox, Dublin

John Murphy, Bandon, Co. Cork

Ned Shannon, Loughglinn, Co. Roscommon

Michael Dineen, Hollymount, Co. Cork

John Buckley, Tipperary Town

Patrick McCarthy, Killarney, Co. Kerry

John Hennessy, Kilcormac, Co. Offaly

William Creedon, Macroom, Co. Cork

Peter McGinnety, Bessbrook, Co. Armagh

John O’Reilly, Newry, Co. Down

Thomas O’Reilly, Newry, Co. Down

Patrick Quinn, Derrybeg, Newry, Co. Down

Edmond Mullan, Downpatrick, Co. Down

Henry Mulholland, Bombay St, Belfast

Jack Flynn, Gortatlea, Co. Kerry

Seamus Ledlie, Belfast

Share This

Leave A Comment

Related posts